Journal of Evolutionary Biology

The Journal of Evolutionary Biology (JEB) is a peer-reviewed, international journal established in 1987 and owned by the European Society for Evolutionary Biology. It covers both micro- and macro-evolution of all types of organisms. The aim of the journal is to integrate perspectives across molecular and microbial evolution, behaviour, genetics, ecology, life histories, development, palaeontology, systematics and morphology. To fulfil its integrative role, the journal gives preference to papers that bring together two or more fields. JEB seeks a balance, even a tension, between theory and data. The Editorial Board reflects the multidisciplinary role of the journal and its international focus. For further information on the scope of the JEB, see JEB editorial.

Membership of the European Society for Evolutionary Biology includes on-line subscription to the journal (to become a member visit our membership page).

The Journal of Evolutionary Biology is published by Wiley-Blackwell, and on their site you will find all further information on the journal. This includes information about subscriptions, guidelines for submitting manuscripts, and editorial procedures. Manuscripts can be submitted online at
Moreover, titles and abstracts are available through Wiley’s Online Library, and papers can be ordered on-line. As a free service, Wiley-Blackwell can send you the Table of contents of new issues by e-mail as soon as they become available.

Editor in Chief

Wolf Blanckenhorn, University of Zurich, CH

Managing Editor

Nicola Cook, University of St Andrews, UK

Deciding Editors

Nathan Bailey, University of St Andrews, UK
Trine Bilde, Aarhus University, DK
Mitch Cruzan, Portland University, US
Alejandro Gonzalez-Voyer, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, MX
Christoph Haag, CEFE, Montpellier, FR
Bengt Hannson, Lund University, SE
Luke Holman, Australian National University, AU
John Hunt, University of Exeter, UK
Patricia Moore, University of Georgia, US
Nicola Nadeau, University of Sheffield, UK
Christian Klingenberg, University of Manchester, UK
Frederic Mery, CNRS, Gif-sur-Yvette, FR
Emmanuell Porcher, Muséum National d’Histoire Naturelle, FR
Julia Schroeder, Imperial College London, UK

Reviews Editor

Luke Holman, Australian National University, AU

For a list of Reviewing Editors, please visit the JEB website.